Communications:9M-MRO OOOI Reports

MH370 DECODED
Jump to navigation Jump to search


9M-MRO OOOI Reports

Background

The acronym OOOI refers to four flight stages which are: Out of the gate, Off the ground, On the ground, and Into the gate.

These events are registered by switches on the aircraft. When these events occur, ACARS sends a message from the aircraft, typically to the airline Operations Centre, but in some instances the messages are relayed to others.

The OOOI event types are described below:-

  • Out of the gate event: Departure from the gate with all doors closed and parking brake released;
  • Off the ground event: Take-off with the nose gear squat switch extended;
  • On the ground event: Touch down with the nose gear squat switch compressed; and
  • Into the gate event: Parked at the gate with the parking brake set and the door open.

Only two of these four types of OOOI messages were transmitted during flight MH370. These are:-

  1. An Out of the gate message at 16:27:57 UTC (00:27:57 MYT Saturday, 8 March 2014)
  2. An Off the ground message at 16:41:43 UTC (00:41:43 MYT Saturday, 8 March 2014)


Message details from the ACARS Traffic Log are shown below. Some message content can be interpreted by using the Tooltips.

Source: Safety Investigation Report MH370/01/2018 1.9.4 Aircraft Communications Addressing and Reporting System



1. OOOI B777 OUT Report


Time
16:27:57
Trans
46818462
Direction
Incoming Downlink
AN
9M-MRO
FI
MH0370
Medium
IOR2
Machine
MHKULKJACM001
Raw DTG
071628
SMI
M11
Application
RELAY
Status
Normal
Message Type
OOOI B777 OUT Report
Source/Destination
QXSXMXS

QU DPCCAMH
.QXSXMXS 071628
M11
FI MH0370/AN 9M-MRO
DT QXT IOR2 071628 M01A
- OUT01MAS370 /--071627WMKKZBAA
1627 496-----


Source: Safety Investigation Report MH370/01/2018 Appendix 1.9A

Note: Additional ACARS messages related to this transmission are included in the ACARS Traffic Log for MH370 (9M-MRO)/0027:57 MYT.



2. OOOI B777 OFF Report


Time
16:41:43
Trans
46818633
Direction
Incoming Downlink
AN
9M-MRO
FI
MH0370
Medium
IOR2
Machine
MHKULKJACM001
Raw DTG
071641
SMI
M12
Application
RELAY
Status
Normal
Message Type
OOOI B777 OFF Report
Source/Destination
QXSXMXS

QU DPCCAMH
.QXSXMXS 071641
M12
FI MH0370/AN 9M-MRO
DT QXT IOR2 071641 M02A
- OFF01MAS370 /--071641WMKKZBAA
1641 492


Source: Safety Investigation Report MH370/01/2018 Appendix 1.9A

Note: Additional ACARS messages related to this transmission are included in the ACARS Traffic Log for MH370 (9M-MRO)/0041:43 MYT.



Note: Although the Off the ground message was sent at 16:41:43 UTC, the official departure time for Flight MH370 is 16:42 UTC Friday, 7 March 2014 or 00:42 MYT Saturday, 8 March 2014 based on the Departure Message.